Public Transit in Northeast Ohio

Photos: Left: The Rapid's Red Line/Michael Barera; Right: RTA Buses in Downtown Cleveland/Raymond Wambsgans

Greater Cleveland Regional Transity Authority (RTA)
The Regional Transit Authority provides public transportation via buses and trains (referred to as the Rapid) throughout the Greater Cleveland area and its 58 municipalities. Rapid train lines connect the east and west sides with Downtown Cleveland as well as Cleveland Hopkins International Airport. The HealthLine provides a special bus service between University Circle and Downtown Cleveland. RTA also offers Local Park-n-Ride, Downtown Trolley, Paratransit and VanShare services.

Akron Metropolitan Regional Transit Authority (METRO)
Akron METRO bus services offer 36 fixed routes, Neighborhood Circulator routes; Grocery Bus service and two Northcoast Express routes to Downtown Cleveland. Riders can view bus locations and routes in real-time using the Track Your Map app. The Metro Transit Center at 631 S. Broadway Street in Downtown Akron serves as a hub for regular line-service buses and transfers to Greyhound, PARTA (Portage Area Regional Transit Authority) and SARTA (Stark Area Regional Transit Authority) services.

Laketran is Lake County’s public transit agency, providing bus service to the cities of Mentor, Painesville, Willoughby, Wickliffe, Eastlake and Madison. Laketran has a reciprocal transfer agreement with Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority that enables riders to connect to Cleveland’s RTA lines.

Lorain County Transit (LTC)
Lorain County provides bus service for the cities of Lorain and Elyria, including a free Downtown Elyria Loop. LTC also provides limited service to Oberlin via the Oberlin Connector.

Medina County Public Transit (MCPT)
Medina County operates bus service for the cities of Medina, Brunswick and Wadsworth. MCPT also provides pickup service to any location within Medina County and, by special arrangement and based on availability, connecting service to Summit County and Cuyahoga County.

Portage Area Regional Transit Authority (PARTA)
Portage County’s transit system operates bus routes between Kent, Hiram, Ravenna and Kent State University, as well as express service to Akron and Cleveland. PARTA also operates Kent State’s Campus Bus system. All line-service buses are equipped with bike racks.

Stark Area Regional Transit Authority (SARTA)
SARTA operates 34 fixed bus routes throughout the Stark County, with transit stations in Canton, Belden Village, Alliance and Massillon. SARTA also provides service to the Akron Metro Transfer Station, Akron-Canton Airport, Stark State College and Downtown Cleveland.